Taking Risks in New Places for New Adventures

Part of living with abandon is taking risks. Many times we are offered opportunities in our lives to explore and go to exotic or different places. It’s up to us to decide whether or not to take these opportunities when they come to us.

Growing up in a small town, I was afraid to take chances because I was comfortable in my small town beginnings. Don’t get me wrong, I loved living in a small town because I had freedom to run about, live simply and learn how to enjoy the simple things of life. Yet, I always wanted to adventure outside of the country, not for good but to experience what everyone has told me I’ve been missing. So I came up with the slogan to take every opportunity that comes my way or I will regret it for the rest of my life. No regrets.

Image

One of the greatest ways I lived out my anthem for no regrets is by choosing to work at camp during the summers. I never personally was a camper but I often went to the nearby camp for day camp, retreats and Vacation Bible School. A friend of mine encouraged me to apply to work at camp because she thought it would be a great fit for me. Personally because of my lack of summer camp experience I didn’t think I’d have a chance so I willingly applied, nothing ventured nothing gained.

I applied to a summer camp in the Lakes Region of Minnesota which was eight hours away from home. Why? Because I wanted to try something totally different than what I was comfortable with although my parents would have been much happier had I applied to the camp I grew up at. Also, I didn’t think I would get hired so trying for something crazy is much easier to do. However, my carefree plan halted when I actually got hired there.

At first, I couldn’t believe the opportunity I had. Then I started worrying about the unknown I was venturing into. I was afraid of the new people, being accepted, being far from home, being gone from the life I knew all summer long and the list could amount to any fear imaginable.

“A lifetime isn’t forever, so take the first chance, don’t wait for the second one! Because sometimes, there aren’t second chances! And if it turns out to be a mistake? So what! This is life! A whole bunch of mistakes! But if you never get a second chance at something you didn’t take a first chance at? That’s true failure.”
― C. JoyBell C.

After clearing my mind with these thoughts I knew I needed to live by my anthem: No regrets. I needed to go to summer camp. I needed to try something exciting. I needed to live with abandon.

Image

Turns out, it was the best decision I have made. I learned so much about myself, my faith, and what I want out of life. I changed children’s lives, and they changed mine.

I encourage you to take small risks, big risks, and seize every opportunity that comes your way. Tell me about the experiences you have and the opportunities placed before you. No regrets.

~Psalm 27:1~

Leave a Reply

