Photo Shoot Day: Depth of Field with Chalk and Other Crafty Things

By this point, I’ve published several posts about photo shoots. True, I have really enjoyed making posts about pictures, visual records of our experiences whether we experience that freedom of abandon or not. But this depth of field project is not friends with my camera. It took a lot of time, retakes and serendipity to pull depth of field together.

First off, my camera is not a DSLR. It’s the halfway point between a point-and-shoot (cameras moms and dads use) and a DSLR (camera professionals use). So my camera is great for a amateur. I have manual controls but not to the point where there are too many gidgets that I don’t know how to use. The downside is that it is limited. Like I said, this “depth of field” assignment is not something my camera is meant to do well.

This excursion took many hours and ingenuity to combine taking photos indoors (also not friends with my camera) and manipulating my camera manually to take auto-focused shots with clear and blurry backgrounds. Here’s the finished product!

Clear shot: f-stop=8

Image

The Pro House is home to five female UWO students who sometimes go a little crazy on the chalkboard wall in Oshkosh, WI.

Blurred background shot: f-stop=2.8

Image

The Pro House is home to five female UWO students who sometimes go a little crazy on the chalkboard wall in Oshkosh, WI.

Leave a Reply

