Recreating an Image on Pinterest with No Directions: T-Shirt Quilt Part 1

Have you ever seen something awesome on Pinterest that you wanted to make? You’re so excited to make this item, so you eagerly go to the mother website for instructions. But when you get to the website, you find out it was only a picture and there are NO INSTRUCTIONS!!!

Usually, I get discouraged and find something else I can make that has instructions. But for some reason, I couldn’t stop thinking about this t-shirt quilt. I think I mainly love that this is an actual quilt. So often I see “t-shirt quilts” that are just a bunch of t-shirt squares sewn next to each other and tied. Maybe I’m a bit of a quilting snob, but that would be a t-shirt blanket not a quilt.

www.pinterest.com

So now that I found a real t-shirt quilt, I needed to make my own pattern with this image as a guide. I’ve added links to the materials I used so you can easily find them at Joann Fabrics, one of my favorite and inexpensive sources for sewing and quilting fabrics.

1. You need to decide how big of a t-shirt panel you are cutting, how many t-shirt panels you are cutting, and the desired size of your quilt. This will help you know how much of each fabric you need for the borders and background fabrics. I decided I wanted my quilt to be no larger than a full size (especially because I was machine quilting it). I had settled on four columns of t-shirts. My first column was 12 1/2″ wide, the second column was 13 1/2″ wide, the third column was 12 1/2″ wide and the fourth column was 11 1/2″ wide. I determined this based off of the panel sizes I wanted cut. Remember to add a 1/4″ into your measurements for seam allowances on all sides of the panels. Otherwise your t-shirt panels might be a little too cropped.

2. Iron on fusible interfacing for each t-shirt panel. This stabilizes the otherwise stretchy knit t-shirt material so it doesn’t change the shape of the quilt top. I used around 4 yds of fusible, medium weight interfacing.

3. Once all your panels are cut and arranged in the columns and rows desired, you can now determine how much of each fabric border and background you need. For the fabric border, I made 23 jelly roll strips that were 2 1/2″ wide out of a maroon material in honor of my high school colors ( I used approximately 2 yds. of fabric).

2015-01-18 13.07.374. First, cut the top and bottom border pieces exactly to the width of the t-shirt panel. Then sew each piece on with a 1/4″ seam allowance. The top and bottom pieces here were 12 1/2″ in length.

5. Second, add 4″ to each measurement for the left and right side. This compensates for the top and bottom borders that were attached and their seam allowances. Then sew each piece on with a 1/4″ seam allowance. You now have a border for each t-shirt panel!2015-01-18 13.08.28Congratulations! This may not look like a lot, but you’ve come a really long way with your quilt already. Next step, add the background fabric and second border! Instructions for this will be posted soon.

Do you have any do it yourself projects you’ve done? Share them with me!

#livewithabandon

Leave a Reply

