I’m Limited.

About a week ago, I was shoveling 12″ of snow from my driveway. Cool. As I’m shoveling,  I’m rehashing my life circumstances, particularly in the last month. How could love hurt so much? Right when I had found the stuff people write love songs about, everything ended. I couldn’t help thinking, “Now what?”

I had moved to a foreign city and put my ambitions on hold. How do I pick up everything I had pushed aside for one person? My one chance at having what most women drool over on the Hallmark Channel was gone.

Then I realized, I was limiting God. I had told him that nothing could be better than what I had just lost. Do you know how pathetic that is?

One quote from Lisa Bevere stands out: “If you think you’ve blown God’s plan for your life, rest in this: You, my friend, are not that powerful.

If I truly believe that God is God, that he is all powerful, all knowing and limitless, how dare I tell him what is or isn’t possible. And let’s be real, what I had was nice but it was no Nicholas Sparks romance.

If we truly believe every Christianese bible verse below, then we know God is limitless.

If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you. ~ Matthew 17:20

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” ~ Matthew 19:26

I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” ~ Philippians 4:13

How cool is it to think that God has created someone that is so much better? He is living, breathing, going through his own struggles and dreaming of me too.

But what if that American Dream isn’t in the future? I have to be okay with that. Don’t get me wrong, I would love to have a husband and kids but, I can wait for whenever God blesses me with them.

A blessing is, according to dictionary.com:

1. the act or words of a person who blesses.
2. a special favor, mercy, or benefit
3. a favor or gift bestowed by God, thereby bringing happiness.
4. the invoking of God’s favor upon a person
5. praise; devotion; worship, especially grace said before a meal
6. approval or good wishes.
In this context, I’m using definition 2, “A special favor, mercy or benefit.” Look in the Bible. Nowhere does it say that if you are a Christian you will have a happy little family, a spouse, a dog and a steady income. And yet we assume those are things that we will get.
Here’s the thing, Jesus didn’t live like that. His disciples didn’t live like that. If we truly believe we are in this world but not of it, then let’s blaze the trail of the Great Commission and store up treasures in Heaven.
Yes, he will bless us but that looks different for everybody. Can you imagine God handing out boxes of standard protocol blessings: a house, an income, a spouse and kids. Nope. Jesus is way more cool than that. Those blessings might be a wonderful mentor, a cancer-free declaration, the little kids you get to teach in a classroom or the random kindness of the stranger ahead of you who paid for your McDonald’s meal.
Jesus is a great example of nontraditional. He flipped tables, drove out demons, fed thousands of people, made wine for a wedding party and still had time to sit with the little children. I’m not saying you should go flip some tables but, don’t be afraid to follow where God leads you. Fear is the worst excuse of mankind.
The only thing guaranteed to Christ-followers is eternal life and Jesus. He’s promised to be there 24/7. In the diagnosis, He is there. In the layoff, He is there. In the breakup, He is there. The ultimate knight in shining armor. The only one we can depend on. Let’s not limit how he uses us and disregard the multitude of blessings we already have.
Go.
He is there.
Leave a Reply

