Skipping Stones

Purses are the female first aid kit. We need to be prepared for whatever occasion. I went through my bag wondering what in the world was making it so heavy. Out comes the lip gloss, Tic Tacs, wallet, playing cards, hand lotion, pens and stones. Yep. Skipping stones.

 

At the end of our last summer as camp counselors, my now ex-fiance left camp early for college. He wrote me a letter before leaving that indicated he had hidden something for me at camp. Everyday after his departure, he would text me one clue.

It was a fun little game and those clues led me to a few skipping stones. I kept them and carried them with me, in my purse for years. It reminded me of him and our memories at camp.

It’s funny how those rocks resurfaced now.

The first thing I did was gather them in my hands, run outside and chuck them as hard as I could into the woods.

I gotta tell you, it felt really good. I was letting go of all of him, the good and the bad. It was cleansing.

It’s so funny that after all this time, I had been carrying those stones around. If anyone had ever looked into my purse, I can imagine their confusion at the rocks in there.

Those stones represented things that needed to be let go. I couldn’t change the memories or the circumstances but I could change what I did about it. I could carry them around with me or let them go and be healed. It reminds me a lot of the baggage skit. This skit has been performed a lot. I just went to YouTube and found tons of renditions of it. Here’s one from The Skit Guys.

In Matthew 11:25-30, Jesus speaks about the getting rid of our baggage. Verse 28 says: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Even if you aren’t a Christian there is so much truth in that. Maybe you aren’t dealing with a breakup. Maybe you are dealing with depression, low self-esteem, a medical diagnosis or you are scared to death of the future. Give it up. Drop those weights. You can’t change the past and but there is no need to be afraid of the future.

If we are honest with each other, we know there is no way to handle these things. They are bigger than us. The only was is to share our struggles. Best of all, Jesus is offering to give you rest, to be understanding and to be there, even when everyone else fails you.

You are not alone. You might feel like it. It’s crazy to think that God exists when you can’t see Him. But the same is true of the wind. You can’t see it but you feel it and you believe it is there. So too with Jesus. Listen, pray, rest and never look back.

I kept one stone. The perfect skipping stone. I remember finding it at Lake Superior and thinking it was too perfect to toss carelessly into that abyss. I promised myself that I was going to save this stone for the perfect moment.

2017-01-24-12-51-21

That moment hasn’t happened yet. I’m going to keep it. It’s not a burden. It’s a reminder to me that the best is yet to come. So much joy, adventure and maybe love is in my future.

 

Leave a Reply

