Desert Provisions and Relient K

Do you believe in miracles?

When we think of miracles, we think of people rising from the dead or a literal angel flying you to safety. So it’s hard not to be skeptical of those ranting about miracles when they aren’t on such a grand scale. And isn’t it really just chance or luck?

I too was a skeptic. But now I’m not so sure.

This past week, I experienced a miracle. I had been going through an application process and was told I wouldn’t be accepted until March. But for some reason, I thought: “I’m going to be accepted for February. I’m not worried. I trust that whatever happens is in His hands.”

On February 1st, a welcome packet and acceptance arrived at my doorstep. In a world where I’ve experienced a great surge in slamming doors of opportunity, this was amazing. While it may be discredited by most as a nothing out of the ordinary, this was a miracle to me.

So what changed? Why did I receive this miracle now? Perhaps it’s not a matter of receiving a miracle but rather a matter of trusting God.

Trust, according to Merriam Webster, is:

1. firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something.

But that’s not right either. I think we all trust God. It’s easy to say we have a firm belief in Him. The trust I’m talking about is an unshakeable certainty, without any hesitations or doubts, in something or someone amidst peers and opinions.

It’s like jumping off a 200 foot cliff and knowing that you will be safe. It’s like embracing the call to go into the wilds of Uganda. It’s like walking into the hospital and knowing that whatever the outcome, God has control.

Matt Theissen of Relient K says it best with his lyrics to “Getting Into You“:

When I made up my mind
And my heart along with that
To live not for myself
But yet for God, somebody said
Do you know what you are getting yourself into

When I finally ironed out
All of my priorities
And asked God to remove the doubt
That makes me unsure of these
Things I ask myself, I ask myself
Do you know what you are getting yourself into

I’m getting into you
Because you got to me, in a way words can’t describe
I’m getting into you
Because I’ve got to be
You’re essential to survive
I’m going to love you with my life

When he looked at me and said
I kind of view you as a son
And for a second our eyes met
And I met that with a question
Do you know what you are getting yourself into

I’m getting into you
Because you got to me, in a way words can’t describe
I’m getting into you
Because I’ve got to be
You’re essential to survive
I’m going to love you with my life

I’ve been a liar and I’ll never amount to
The kind of person you deserve to worship you
You say you will not dwell on what I did but rather what I do you say
I love you and that’s what you are getting yourself into

I’m getting into you
Because you got to me, in a way words can’t describe
I’m getting into you
Because I’ve got to be
You’re essential to survive
I’m going to love you with my life

He said, I love you and that’s what you are getting yourself into

Not many people can totally surrender like that. And that is not okay. If we say we trust God, we need to give him control over every decision. It’s time to be all in.

The entire Bible screams of God’s provision and miracles. Check out 1 Kings 17, God provides for Elijah in big ways.

The point is, when we trust God, with an unshakeable certainty, without any hesitations or doubts, he starts doing awesome things.

I’m curious. Have you had any provisions or miracles in your life? Comment below and tell me. I’d love to hear of your real-life encounters.

2 thoughts on “Desert Provisions and Relient K

Leave a Reply

