I do believe it’s time for another adventure.

I am thrilled to announce that I will be working as a Short Term Missionary Assistant in Uganda through AFLC Journey Missions! I’ll be leaving in May and staying for nine months.

So, where is Uganda?

Locator_map_of_Uganda_in_Africa.svg

Uganda is the darker shaded country on this image of continental Africa. It was coined the “Pearl of Africa” by Winston Churchill. Why? Well, Uganda has a huge diversity in geography, animals and climate.

In the southern region of Uganda, the land meets the second largest freshwater lake in the world and the source of the Nile River, Lake Victoria. The climate is lush and tropical. In the northern region it is arid and desert-like. In the western region, it is mountainous and cooler than the other regions. There you can find the illusive mountain gorillas.

The country has a population of 35 million people. Of those people, 50% of the population are under the age of 15. The main language of Uganda is English but there are over 40 dialects of Swahili spoken.

Why Uganda?

A friend of mine acquainted me with the AFLC Journey Missions, specifically in Uganda. It seemed to be a mixture of a great fit and a dream come true for me. You see, for a few years now, I’ve sensed a call to go into the mission field.

Coincidentally, this organization found me at exactly the same time.

What will I be doing?

AFLC World Missions has started a program called the Ambassador Institute in Uganda and India. This program works with the government to created a training and certificate curriculum to orally teach and train deeper Christian faiths. The idea is that for two years, students of any age can study with the Ambassador Institute. Most classes meet weekly.

The teacher memorizes a certain passage of scripture and orally recites it through storytelling and acting. After repeating the passage the teacher will slowly get the class to memorize the passage by asking for help in the middle of the passage: “And then what happened?” etc. Once the students have it memorized, the teacher guides them through application of the study. Why did Zacchaeus climb the tree? Or, Why would Jesus say that? Finally, the teacher helps the students understand how it relates to our lives.

In this way, the students learn to memorize, analyze and find spiritual applications for the Bible. After verbal and written tests and over 2200 memorized Bible verses, these students graduate and become teachers for Ambassador Institute all over country. The Ambassador Institute really embodies the Great Commission in this way, to go and make disciples of all nations.

My main role in Uganda will be to teach in the Ambassador Institute. I also will get to visit local villages, assist the resident missionary family and help my house mother with the inner workings of the Ambassador Institute.

What can you do to help?

You can help me in two huge ways. First, I need your prayers! I know the power of prayer. It’s the greatest way you can show how much you care for someone. Please consider me in your daily prayers as I embark in a new territory, a new culture and a new way of life.

Second, I’d like to ask you to support me. This trip is estimated to cost $10,000, including lodging, meals, visas, airfare and the like. If you in any way feel led to give, do not hesitate. I’ve spoken with many people that have said: “Wow, that’s so cool. I wish I could do something like that!” While not everyone can go into the mission field, anyone can support someone. If God has blessed you with a giving heart, please consider donating.

How to Donate

1. You can give by simply going to the website, www.aflcworldmissions.org, and clicking “online giving” from the left sidebar. From there click the “Journey Missions” button or simply click this link. Then simply, click how much they you’d like to donate, type my name in as the designee and fill in the payment information.

2. Or you can mail a donation to:

AFLC Journey Missions

3110 Medicine Lake Blvd.

Plymouth, MN 55441

Be sure not to write my name on the check. Instead, include a note designating my name to the donation. This way it ensures your gift is tax deductible.

Follow Me

Thank you for your prayer and support. I will continue to post photos, videos and updates on my journey. I’d love if you’d follow me. You can easily follow my blog posts by clicking on the “Follow me” button on the right sidebar. Or follow me on Facebook, Instagram, email or any of my other social media outlets.

Finally, as I post information, please comment and send me questions. I’d love to write content you are interested in. So if you want to know something specific about my journey, please comment below or contact me through my social media venues. Your comments and ideas could very well spark something interesting that everyone else has been dying to know.

I look forward to updating you and hearing your comments and questions.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

