The Man, The Myth, The Legend

“Now, my question is, who watched the sheep while Moses went up to the burning bush?!” My student Moses said.

My co-teacher and I exchanged glances and started chuckling. Leave it to Moses’ to bring up something that we had seen as inconsequential.

2017-10-21 09.16.34

Moses is one of my students going through the Ambassador Institute training. We had just gone through the story of Moses and the Burning Bush. We had finished all the discussion questions I had prepared. And then Moses’ raised his hand to ask his weekly question.

The questions are always like this. Out of the box, random and answerless.

I think he asks them partially to make us all smile and partially to bring a question that can’t be answered.

I mean it doesn’t say in the Bible, ‘And then Moses called for a shepherd friend to watch the sheep so his father-in-law, Jethro, wouldn’t get angry at him for his carelessness.’ It doesn’t.

There are lots of parts in the Bible like that though. I should know; every week Moses’ asks another question along these lines.

I don’t know where Reuben went when his brothers sold Joseph into slavery. I don’t know why David picked up five stones when he only used one to kill Goliath. And I don’t know what Moses did with the sheep while he went to see the burning bush.

Here’s the truth, we will never know all the answers while we are on this earth.

This goes against our human thirst for knowledge and logic. Perhaps that’s why so many people turn from Christianity or start believing the Bible is less than what it says it is; a book of moral stories.

Many liberal theologians believe the Bible is not inerrant, the Bible is a metaphor and moral guide, heaven and hell don’t exist, and eastern spiritual practices help to “discover” God.

Often, these theologians misquote the Bible in order to justify why we should believe the Bible is less than it says it is. This blog is a great example of this.

The Bible is so heavily scrutinized that a self-appointed counsel of scholars, called the Jesus Seminar, scoured the sayings and deeds of Jesus. They decided only about 18% of Jesus sayings and 16% of Jesus deeds were actually historical and authentic. How they can determine what Jesus said or not since they weren’t actually there in the first century is beyond me.

Growing up, whenever I had a God question my mother couldn’t answer, she’d always say, “I don’t know. You’ll have to ask God that when you get to Heaven.”

And that’s the great mystery. In our struggle to be “right” about the Bible or Christianity, we must remember that we will never know everything. That’s why we aren’t God. That’s why it’s about faith.

Glenn T. Stanton writes an article that explains this well.

It takes faith to believe that God is limitless. It takes faith to believe that God is who He says He is, not just a figurative moral guide. It takes faith to know that Jesus (the Son of Man and God) literally died for you.

I think of the martyrs and disciples that were willing to die for the Gospel. They believed Jesus was God, the perfect sacrifice that literally rose from the dead and defeated hell. Would you die for anything less than this?

But that’s just it. I wouldn’t want it any other way. Anything less than a powerful, limitless God who literally sent His perfect Son to die for me so I can receive eternal life is utterly meaningless.

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1

I’m just going to put the rest of Hebrews 11 here. Take a look!

3 thoughts on “The Man, The Myth, The Legend

Leave a Reply

